short-stories

Something New – London

 

Sisley was always amazed by London since she had been in London for the first time as a young girl with her mother and still she loved it every time she came down. Sue was almost as stunned by London as Sisley was and the two had a drink at a bar before they would go to the announced party.

browsing-2642604_1280.jpg

“Oh Sue, I am so glad you made it, isn’t it lovely, here?” Sisley asks.

“Yes, Sis, this was such a great idea to leave all this shit behind and get a change of scenery. I love that dress, I bought this afternoon at Kensington High street, do you know this little shop at the Kensington Arcade?” Sue asks while placing her hands at her hips striking a pose and tweaking over to Sis.

“Wow, yeah, that red looks amazing on you, I love it!”.

“Such a store, this is actually something I would love to have, too,” Sue suggests. Sis is nodding with her head.

“Yeah, me, too, but I wonder how they make it, the rent in such a place is like insane, imagine how many dresses you have to sell to make that?” Sis points out.

“Yeah, you’re right, but somehow they make it don’t they?” Sue says.

“That’s true, but I would try to avoid business with such high rent. If I would do a business I would do something like this redecorating as I did with Boyce, I loved this or more something like a PR agency more a kind of service.  Why don’t you think about something like a PR agency here in this city, this is your background, isn’t it? I am sure there are a hell of companies you could work with.” Sis thinks about all the companies and events and some of the artists Boyce knows.

“Yeah, you’re right, and I really should think about making a move, I am ready for something new!” Sue laughs.

“Well, maybe we should think about business together, I am a little tired of up north. My contract finishes soon which means I would need to go back to the mother company, and I could imagine better things, too.”

The two girls look at each other and realize that they should get serious about their idea of their own business even though they are not sure about what business this should be.

“Oh, it’s after 11:00 pm,” Sis looks at the clock, “we should go now, I am sure we won’t be the first by now.” The two leave the bar and are on the way to the river party.

gf_tower_cpbs_may_2015_61_612_x_320.jpg

Close to the river theme near the London eye the boat body rocks. Sisley and Sue are welcomed with a glass of champagne, a band is playing and the two are listening to the song. Sisley smiles “This is exactly how I always feel about London.” Sue agrees “Yeah, you’re right, I feel the same about this city.” And the band keeps on playing Hotel California with the words “you can check out but never leave.”

cocktail-4271392_1280.jpg

The two walk a level up and meet Boyce who is surrounded by a group of people, actually some business friends who are planning a launch for their new business.

“Sisley, you always have such great ideas, what would you suggest for a launch party, any idea?” Boyce asks looking at Sisley with high expectations. Sisley actually has an idea.

“Sure, Boyce, you want an idea for a launch party?” Sisley looks over to Sue and the two immediately know this is not just an idea for a launch party, this is the idea for their new business. Sue immediately clicks.

“Yeah, indeed, she has tons of ideas, actually, we should discuss more in a business frame, we can plan your launch party, interested?” Boyce’s business friend cheers his champagne glass with a smile.

boat-party

“Why not, a launch party planned by two charming ladies like you, we’ll be excited.”

With the music keeping on playing, an excited Sisley and Sue dancing to the rhythm of the night away…

 

Leave a comment