books · Latest · Reading · short-stories

New Beginnings – part 04

🔊 Listen to the audio on 𝕏

A Victorian bar in South Kensington that somehow had become Pippa’s second home during the last summer semester.

“I will be there at around six. I’m with a client here.” Tess replied.

“See you, there. Drinks waiting.” Pippa wrote.

Pippa was on her second Martini when Tess arrived.

“Hi sweety, how is it going? You are impressed by your new job as I see, aren’t you?” Tess asks ironically.

“Yeah, I’m so impressed, you can’t believe what kind of asshole this assistance guy is who I have to work with, unbelievable, a total sexist!” Pippa states this with anger.
“Well, you better get used to this, when you enter the working sphere, that’s the first thing they will pick on, after all it is all about competition, honey.” Tess tries to calm Pippa down. “You have no idea what I experience with my colleagues; even in our law firm, half the energy goes into fighting against our colleagues. Jim lately sued Kathrin for dealing with one of her clients, and that’s within our own firm. Imagine that!” Tess keeps going.

“How do you get through that?” Pippa asks. “When I look in the mirror in the morning, I tell myself, “This is the best time. You can do this, if you want to drive a Maserati, you better be a bitch.” Tess said.

“You say what?” Pippa laughs out loud.

“Yes, that’s what I tell myself every morning, and it works.” Tess says, “and don’t take things personally, darling. That’s rule number one. People don’t do all this because they are against you, they do it because they are for themselves.” Tess continues.
“Well, I was thinking changing this job, looking for another one, but this again takes time, and I am in my final year now, so I don’t want to waste too much time on job hunting.” Pippa says.

“You know most of these bricks are just insecure or feel intimidated by you in some way; they might not appear to be that smart. That’s the main reason why people bully. There is always that one jackass who ruins everything. Get your own strategy on how to get along with those morons, and you will find your way. This event company is good for you to work with. Rise above it; you’re not doing this for him; instead, you should focus on your studies and your bright future; and, of course, the money. You’re doing it for greater things ahead. Always know your “why”!

They both have another drink and change the topics. Tess is again reporting the details and latest news about her new lover and they are big. “He asked me for a boat-trip. Can you imagine?” Tess giggles.

“A boat-trip?” Pippa asks and was astonished by that idea as most guys would simply ask for a weekend-trip to the country-side.

“Yes, he suggested a turn from Mallorca to Ibiza, he has an invitation on a party in Magaluf, one of his friends is throwing a party there. It sounds amazing and I really would love to go there, but I have this case with that merger running so I don’t know if it is a good idea to take the whole week off.” Tess says hesitating.

“Well, come on, you are almost through with this case, can’t your associate do this paper stuff, you will be back at the opening day. Imagine what a great time you will have there, go for it, girl!” Pippa keeps motivating her as she has worked so hard since the break-up and really deserves a good break.

“Yeah, you are right. It is just the paperwork that needs to be sorted, and the form of order sought is already here. I should go for the trip.” Tess agrees with a big, triumphant smile on her face. “I’m going.” Tess was working on a merger between a global media company and an Asian production company, and it had taken her endless nights to finally get the deal together, but it was all set, and it seemed like it was never the right time for taking time off for a holiday, so if it wasn’t now, then when.

Read the full story here, get the ebook on kindle

Leave a comment